Motorcycle Racing Club of WA 
Promoters of Modern Motorcycle Racing & RidedaysWA Courses in Western Australia


The long awaited return to racing for the Motor Cycle Racing Club of WA finally arrived on the 9th August with Round 1 of the revised four round championship held at CollieMotorplex.

There was plenty of enthusiasm around the pits although many riders were keeping an eye on the weather. Approximately 70 riders entered, including several cross entries, for the days racing – great numbers considering the delayed start to the season. Unfortunately, as qualifying began the weather took a turn for the worse, with the wind picking up and the rain getting heavier by the minute. By the time racing commenced the rain was steady with gusty winds and a temperature around 15C. The unpredictable weather conditions caught a few riders out with a couple of the younger riders namely William Wasley and Jayden Martin both sliding out unhurt in qualifying.

When racing commenced it was the GoMoto Store Production Championship with defending champion Bronson Pickett (M&B Rubbish Disposal Yamaha R3) continuing where he left off in 2019 with a strong win. Second was Michael King (BAT Racing KTM RC390) with up and coming star William Wasley (JB Racing Ninja 300) grabbing a strong third place. In the second race it was King who took the win from Jordan White (DJ White Contracting Ninja 300) with Pickett in third place. Hannah Stewart (Lee Mechanical Yamaha R3) was fourth in both races.

The Rick Gill Motorcycles Clubman Series saw Jeff Cameron (Mototech Yamaha R1) take the win, his first in four years from pole position ahead of Paul 'Dickie" Davies (Honda CBR 1000RR) with newcomer Raymond Kleyn (Go Moto ZX-10) in third place.

The Professional Printers Sidecar Championship saw polesitter Jero Joyce/Corey Blackman (RHR Racing) and second on the grid newcomers Paul Joshua/Josh Mathers(RHR Racing) both beaten for the holeshot by Dillan McDermott/Grady Norris from third place on the grid. McDermott/Norris went on to win comfortably in their first competitive outing together, with Joyce/Blackman second and Graeme Evans/Jarrod Scott (RHR Racing) in third place. Joshua/Mathers finished a very creditable fourth place after the six lap race.

The Triton Electrical Superbike Championship saw the return of Sam Clarke (Team RS36 Suzuki GSXR 1000) to WA, following a stint racing in the BSB Championship. Clarke put the bike on pole in a time of 1:26.7890 seconds ahead of Leigh Boujos (JB Racing BMW S1000RR) and Jeff Cameron (OZsteel Design Yamaha R1). In the race Clarke had a minor off at T9 with rider and bike unscathed which allowed Boujos through to take the win ahead of Adam Senior (Senior Engineering Yamaha R1) and Cameron Stronach (Motorcycle Movers Ducati 1299).Clarke finished the race in sixth place salvaging some valuable points.

The Cullys Yamaha Supersport Championship saw Bronson Pickett on pole with a time of 1:32.2800 seconds take the win ahead of Lino Mazzali (JHPM Yamaha R6) with Tim Boujos (JB Racing Yamaha R6) taking the minor placing.

The Senior Engineering Junior Championship saw Jayden Martin (Aussie Moto Engineering Yamaha R15) on pole in a time of 1:47.3750 seconds set on the only lap he did in qualifying 1, and managed to hold on despite his minor off during the session. He went on to win the race from William Wasley (Yamaha R15) and Calvin Moylan (Major Luck Lottery Centre Yamaha R15) in third place. 

Thank you to all of the competitors who supported the event, its great to see everyone back racing again! An even bigger thanks needs to go to out volunteers and officials on the day, especially those who travelled down from Perth and stood out in the weather all day!

Round two will be held at Wanneroo Raceway on the 20th September, with a Tuning and Training event held at the same track the week before, on Saturday 12th September.

Photos and report thanks to Innesphotografix-John Innes